We may earn a commission if you sign up through links on this site. Operators we partner with are marked and may appear first. Every operator shown is registered in your province.

Menu

Pipeline tickets: what actually gates getting hired

H2S Alive, two different site orientations that aren't interchangeable, and the rest of the tickets a spread expects before you show up. Every figure sourced, checked September 2026.

Key facts

H2S Alive
~$150-300 initial, 3-year validity
Source: Energy Safety Canada ATP network
Common Safety Orientation
CAD $90, does not expire
Source: Energy Safety Canada
CSTS 2020 Fundamentals
Free online, expiry not stated
Source: ACSA MyLearning
Standard First Aid
~$135-260, 3-year validity
Source: WCB-recognized providers
Confined Space Entry and Monitor
CAD $90, 3-year validity
Source: Energy Safety Canada

Every figure and validity period below is sourced -- see the Sources section, checked 2026-09-08. Where a provider or issuing body didn't publish a firm number, this page says so rather than guessing one. This is a companion to /jobs/, which covers roles and how hiring works -- this page is only about the tickets themselves.

H2S Alive: the one almost every spread wants

H2S Alive teaches how to identify and respond to hydrogen sulphide gas exposure, and it's expected on most pipeline spreads, particularly anything near sour gas infrastructure. It's an 8-hour course developed and issued by Energy Safety Canada and delivered only through its Authorized Training Provider (ATP) network -- a certificate from an unauthorized trainer isn't a valid Energy Safety Canada H2S Alive certificate. The certificate is valid for 3 years. Providers checked price the full initial course roughly $150-300; Energy Safety Canada's own course page lists CAD $90 specifically for the shorter blended renewal option available to workers who are already certified, not the full initial course.

CSTS 2020 and Common Safety Orientation: two different things, not one

This is the part most guides get wrong for this niche. CSTS 2020 (the current version, replacing the older CSTS-09) is a general construction-site orientation developed and issued by the Alberta Construction Safety Association (ACSA). The online Fundamentals course is a 9-module, 2-3 hour program, and ACSA provides it at no cost through its own MyLearning platform. Common Safety Orientation (CSO) is a separate course developed and issued by Energy Safety Canada specifically for upstream oil and gas facilities, runs about 4 hours, costs CAD $90 per Energy Safety Canada's own page, and does not expire. Which one a given spread requires depends on whether the site is run as a construction contract (CSTS) or sits on oil-and-gas-facility land (CSO) -- the prime contractor or site owner decides, not you, so ask before assuming either applies.

One more thing worth flagging: sources disagree on whether CSTS 2020 itself expires. ACSA's own course page doesn't state an expiry; a third-party certificate-tracking vendor (WorkSitePass) states 3 years. We're marking that unconfirmed in the matrix below rather than picking a side -- confirm directly with ACSA or the hiring contractor.

Standard First Aid & CPR/AED, Level C

Expected across the industry alongside the site-specific orientation, not instead of it. Based on Alberta training providers checked, it's typically a 2-day course, valid for 3 years, delivered by WCB-recognized trainers -- commonly ones affiliated with the Canadian Red Cross -- and priced roughly $135-260 depending on the provider and location.

Fall Protection

Alberta's OHS Code Part 9 requires an employer to ensure a worker is trained in the safe use of a fall protection system before working somewhere that system is required -- generally 3 metres or more, or a lesser height with added risk. The Code sets the requirement but doesn't prescribe one single curriculum or issuing body, so training is delivered by whichever qualified provider the employer chooses. Providers checked price it roughly $99-150, with certificates commonly issued for 3 years -- though that specific validity period is a provider convention, not something the OHS Code itself states.

WHMIS 2015 (GHS)

WHMIS training is a legal requirement, not a single standardized certification -- there's no one issuing body the way there is for H2S Alive. Health Canada regulates the supplier side (labels and safety data sheets) under the Hazardous Products Act, while provincial occupational health and safety legislation requires employers to actually train workers who handle or work near hazardous products. Neither level mandates a fixed expiry; many private training providers issue a 3-year certificate as their own convention, not a legal requirement. Online courses checked price it roughly $13-30.

Confined Space Entry and Monitor

Required for anyone entering a permit-required confined space, or monitoring one from outside it. It's an 8-hour, 1-day course developed by Energy Safety Canada, built on CSA Standard Z1006-16 (Management of Work in Confined Spaces) and CAPP's Code of Practice for Confined Space. The certificate is valid for 3 years, and Energy Safety Canada's own course page lists it at CAD $90.

Ground Disturbance 101

Right-of-way and station work regularly involves digging, boring, or grading near buried utilities, which is exactly what Ground Disturbance 101 covers. It isn't a government ticket -- it's a training standard set and maintained by Utility Safety Partners (USP), formerly the Alberta Common Ground Alliance, and delivered only by USP-endorsed training providers, currently Astec Safety and Danatec/Global Training Centre. Providers checked price it roughly $30-95, with certificates commonly quoted as valid 3 years -- USP's own standard page doesn't itself state a validity period, so confirm current pricing and validity with a specific endorsed provider.

Costs marked "estimate" above come from provider prices checked at the time we looked, not a confirmed industry-wide rate -- providers set their own prices and they change. Anything marked "not confirmed" means sources disagreed or a validity period wasn't published anywhere we could find. Confirm current cost, duration, and validity directly with the training provider, Energy Safety Canada, ACSA, or USP before enrolling or budgeting -- and confirm with the specific hiring contractor which tickets they actually require before you pay for any of them.

Ticket matrix

The compiled artifact for this cluster: role, required ticket, cost, validity, and who issues it, in one table.

Role Required ticket Cost Validity Who issues it
Any spread role -- welders, operators, labourers, inspectors H2S Alive roughly $150-300 for the 8-hour initial course, based on providers checked; Energy Safety Canada's own listed price for the blended renewal is CAD $90 (estimate; confirm with provider) 3 years Energy Safety Canada, delivered through its Authorized Training Provider (ATP) network
Any role at an oil-and-gas-facility-owned site Common Safety Orientation (CSO) CAD $90, per Energy Safety Canada's own course page Does not expire, per Energy Safety Canada's own course page Energy Safety Canada
Any role on a construction-contractor-run spread CSTS 2020 (successor to CSTS-09) Free for the online Fundamentals course through ACSA's own MyLearning platform, per ACSA's own course page Not confirmed -- ACSA's own page does not state an expiry; a third-party certificate-tracking vendor states 3 years. Confirm directly with ACSA or the hiring contractor. Alberta Construction Safety Association (ACSA)
Any spread role Standard First Aid & CPR/AED, Level C roughly $135-260, based on Alberta providers checked; prices vary by provider and region (estimate; confirm with provider) 3 years WCB-recognized training providers, commonly Red Cross-affiliated
Any role working at 3 metres or more, or a lesser height with added risk Fall Protection roughly $99-150, based on providers checked (estimate; confirm with provider) roughly 3 years, based on providers checked; Alberta's OHS Code itself does not set a fixed expiry (estimate; confirm with provider) No single issuing body -- Alberta OHS Code Part 9 sets the training requirement, delivered by any qualified provider the employer chooses
Any role handling or working near hazardous products WHMIS 2015 (GHS) roughly $13-30 for an online course, based on providers checked (estimate; confirm with provider) No fixed expiry mandated federally or in Alberta's OHS Code; many providers issue a 3-year certificate as their own convention No single issuing body -- Health Canada regulates supplier-side labelling/SDS requirements under the Hazardous Products Act; provincial OHS legislation requires employer-provided training, delivered by many accredited private providers
Anyone entering a permit-required confined space, or monitoring one Confined Space Entry and Monitor CAD $90, per Energy Safety Canada's own course page 3 years Energy Safety Canada, built on CSA Z1006-16 and CAPP's Code of Practice for Confined Space
Anyone performing or supervising ground disturbance (digging, boring, grading) near buried utilities Ground Disturbance 101 roughly $30-95, based on providers checked (estimate; confirm with provider) roughly 3 years, based on providers checked; Utility Safety Partners' own standard page does not itself state a validity period (estimate; confirm with provider) Standard set by Utility Safety Partners (USP), delivered by USP-endorsed training providers (currently Astec Safety and Danatec/Global Training Centre)

Sources

Frequently asked questions

What is H2S Alive and do I need it for pipeline work?

H2S Alive is Energy Safety Canada's standard course for identifying and responding to hydrogen sulphide (H2S) gas exposure. Most pipeline spreads require it before site access, especially on sour-gas-adjacent projects. It's an 8-hour course delivered through Energy Safety Canada's Authorized Training Provider network, the certificate is valid for 3 years, and providers checked list the initial course at roughly $150-300 -- Energy Safety Canada's own site lists CAD $90 for the shorter blended renewal option specifically, not the full initial course.

What's the difference between CSTS 2020 and Common Safety Orientation (CSO)?

They're two different orientation courses from two different bodies, and a lot of people assume they're interchangeable. CSTS (now CSTS 2020, replacing CSTS-09) is developed and issued by the Alberta Construction Safety Association for general construction sites -- the online Fundamentals course is free through ACSA's own MyLearning platform and takes 2-3 hours. Common Safety Orientation (CSO) is a separate course developed and issued by Energy Safety Canada specifically for upstream oil and gas facilities, costs CAD $90 per Energy Safety Canada's own page, and does not expire. Which one a given pipeline spread requires depends on whether the site is run as a construction contract or sits on oil-and-gas-facility land -- ask the specific contractor which orientation they require before assuming either.

Does a CSTS 2020 certificate expire?

We could not confirm this one way or the other, and we're not guessing. The Alberta Construction Safety Association's own course page does not state an expiry for CSTS 2020. A third-party certificate-tracking vendor (WorkSitePass) states a 3-year validity period. Confirm directly with ACSA or the hiring contractor before assuming your certificate is still current.

Do I need Ground Disturbance 101 for pipeline work?

If your role involves digging, boring, grading, or otherwise disturbing ground near buried utilities -- which covers a lot of right-of-way and station work -- yes, in practice. Ground Disturbance 101 isn't a government-mandated ticket; it's a training standard set and endorsed by Utility Safety Partners (USP, formerly the Alberta Common Ground Alliance), delivered by USP-endorsed providers. Providers checked price it roughly $30-95 with a certificate commonly quoted as valid 3 years, though USP's own standard page doesn't itself state a validity period -- confirm current pricing and validity with a specific USP-endorsed provider.

How long does Standard First Aid stay valid, and who issues it?

3 years, based on Alberta providers checked and consistent with Alberta OHS regulations. There's no single national issuing body -- it's delivered by WCB-recognized training providers, commonly ones affiliated with the Canadian Red Cross, and providers checked in Alberta price the 2-day course roughly $135-260 depending on provider and location.

Who pays for these tickets -- me or the employer?

It varies by contractor and by ticket, and we haven't sourced a single universal answer -- some contractors cover tickets as part of onboarding, others expect you to arrive already certified, and some reimburse after a probation period. Ask the specific contractor directly before booking and paying for a ticket out of pocket.

Off-shift entertainment

Some workers use off-shift downtime for regulated online gambling. If you do, only use operators registered in your own province -- see the regulated options by province, or pick your province below.

Regulated online gambling in Canada is province by province. Only operators registered for your own province are ever shown -- pick your province below to see what's actually available to you.

Off-shift only. Never gamble on company networks or devices. Please play responsibly. Gambling should be entertainment, not income.